Clear console command history in Linux

For the second time in as many months I’ve executed a command in SSH that I didn’t mean to because it was still in the console command history from the previous session.  I up-arrowed one too many times and shot myself in the foot.  So, for the second time in as many months I had to look up how to clear the console history.  The command is as follows:

history -c

I’m not sure why I can’t remember that, but at least I have a consistent article to reference now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

