SNMP Event ID 1500 on Windows 2008 R2

I observed the following error in the System log of one of my 2008 R2 servers today after a reboot:

The SNMP Service encountered an error while accessing the registry key SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\TrapConfiguration.

I’m configuring some SNMP settings by way of Group Policy and was surprised to see the error.  A quick search on the web lead me to MS KB 2002303.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2002303

Per the article, “This registry path is needed for the SNMP trap configuration and created once traps are set up” and since I’m not using traps it had not yet created the key.  As recommended in the article I simply created the TrapConfiguration key beneath HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters and then rebooted.  When it came back the error had cleared.

I assume I am probably seeing this error elsewhere and plan to address it by adjusting a GPO to create the key on all 2008 R2 machines. 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

